top of page

Why I became a photographer

My love for photography began when I was a young girl growing up in South Africa and my father gifted me a really nice camera for my birthday. I joined my high school paper and was given the title of school photographer, (partly because of my camera)

I worked some summers in the photo lab of my fathers pharmacy developing his customers film.

As a young adult, I came to the Sates. I enrolled in a black and white photography class at the community college. I enjoyed the whole process from getting the shots, to developing the negatives, to processing the pictures. I took a few more classes through the college and soon realized what an expensive hobby I had chosen. I had to table it for a while .... and then .... LIFE HAPPENED. I got married, moved to Hawaii, had a kid, moved to Connecticut, had another kid.

With the birth of my son (just over a year ago) I began taking photographs again with him as my newborn subject. It was then that I decided to make a go of this photography thing.

Much has changed from my college days. No more dark rooms or developing negatives. Digital photography has enhanced my capability of providing quality pictures.

bottom of page